Arlington Domestic Violence Lawyer

Domestic violence charges are serious offenses that could have a tremendous effect on your future. For this reason, seeking legal advice from an Arlington domestic violence lawyer could be crucial to your case.

A skilled criminal defense lawyer may be able to navigate through the legal system and help you develop an effective defense strategy. This can help you work towards the best outcome possible for your specific circumstances.

How Domestic Violence Relates to Family

While some states have established a specific set of laws dedicated to domestic violence situations, the state of Texas does not have a separate statute. In Arlington, intentional physical contact falls under the jurisdiction of assault. Texas laws state that assault includes crimes against specified family, current and past romantic partners, and household members.

Assault encompasses a wide range of intentional or reckless behaviors. This includes causing physical injuries to others, having physical contact that others would reasonably regard as offensive, and making threats of bodily harm to others. Under Texas Penal Code § 22.01, an assault against a family or household member, including a current spouse, is the same criminal offense as an assault against a stranger.

Texas Penal Code § 71.003 defines “family” as all individuals who are related by blood or marriage, as well as former spouses, unmarried individuals who share a child, foster parents, and foster children. The term “household” refers to all persons who live together in the same dwelling pursuant to Tex. Pen. Code § 71.005, regardless of their relationship.

Penalties for Domestic Assault in Arlington

In Texas, the penalty for domestic assault may vary depending on whether the case is classified as a misdemeanor or felony. Domestic violence assault is usually considered a Class A misdemeanor. However, the offense becomes a third- or second-degree felony under certain circumstances.

The penalties for a felony conviction are far harsher than those for a misdemeanor conviction. A Class A misdemeanor conviction for domestic violence assault could result in a fine of up to $4,000 and a jail sentence of up to one year. Conviction on a third-degree felony charge may result in a prison sentence ranging from two to ten years. On a second-degree felony charge, jail time could range from two to 20 years. Both levels of offense also carry the possibility of a $10,000 fine.

Continuous Violence Against the Family

For domestic violence situations in which an individual allegedly has caused multiple assaults against family or household members, Tex. Pen. Code § 25.11 enhances the consequences. This offense occurs when individuals assault a family or household member at least two times during a 12-month period. Continuous violence against the family is a third-degree felony offense in Texas.

Other criminal offenses may be the basis for domestic violence charges, as well. These offenses may include aggravated assault, attempted murder, and others. The underlying criminal offenses are chargeable in appropriate situations regardless of the relationship between the alleged perpetrators and complainants.

Seek Legal Representation from a Domestic Violence Attorney in Arlington

A conviction for any domestic violence offense could have a long-lasting impact on your life. Any convictions may affect your relationships and make it difficult to obtain a job or housing. If you have been charged with a domestic violence offense, you should strongly consider seeking the advice of an Arlington domestic violence lawyer.

A strong defense attorney could represent your interests and protect your rights throughout any criminal proceedings. Legal representation may enable you to avoid or minimize some of the potential consequences of domestic violence charges. Call now to set up a consultation.