Irving Drunk Driving Car Accident Lawyer
Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence or drugs or alcohol can cause serious accidents. Even though driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) that meets or exceeds 0.08 percent is illegal in the State of Texas, drivers still get behind the wheel intoxicated. When a driver’s senses are dulled from alcohol, their reflexes and reaction time can be severely impacted, increasing the potential for a destructive or deadly crash.
If you or a loved one were injured in a motor vehicle collision due to an intoxicated motorist, an Irving drunk driving car accident lawyer could help you seek compensation for damages. You may be eligible to recover compensation for damages such as medical expenses, pain and suffering, mental anguish, and loss of enjoyment of life. A knowledgeable car accident attorney would help you recover the losses you sustained in a collision and advocate for justice on your behalf.
Recovering Damages from a Drunk Driving Car Accident
A person who is injured by a drunk driver may have a legal right to a range of monetary damages, which makes it essential to get in touch with a seasoned Irving car accident lawyer right away who could get started on their case. The types of damages that available would depend on the severity of the individual’s injuries and the nature of the losses sustained.
The injured individual could receive compensation for their lost wages, hospital bills, doctor bills, ambulance expenses, and physical therapy costs. Other kinds of compensation could include the person’s future reduced earning ability due to their injuries, pain, suffering, and future medical costs. When the conduct of the at-fault party that led to the accident is determined to constitute egregious or gross negligence, the court may also decide to grant the claimant punitive damages.
Deadline to File a Claim
The deadline to file a lawsuit for damages is just two years from the collision date, as stated under Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code § 16.003. It is crucial to understand and comply with this deadline. Failing to file a case by the statutory deadline would mean that someone could no longer collect compensation for their injuries. A skilled drunk driving car collision attorney in Irving could help make sure a case is filed on time.
Drunk Driving Laws in Irving
The State of Texas imposes stringent drunk driving laws and penalties. A motorist who is operating a non-commercial vehicle and is the legal drinking age is classified as intoxicated if their BAC content equals or is higher than 0.08 percent. If a motorist is younger than 21 and law enforcement finds traces of alcohol through a breathalyzer or other test, they would be considered intoxicated. In the case of operators of commercial vehicles, the legal BAC limit is 0.04 percent.
The penalties associated with drunk driving depend on whether or not the driver has been convicted of previous offenses, as well as factors like the motorist’s age. For instance, someone who commits a drunk driving offense for the first time could be ordered to pay a $2,000 fine and possibility of incarceration for as long as 180 days. For the third offense within a five-year window, the maximum incarceration period is ten years, and a $10,000 fine could apply.
If a motorist is between the ages of 18 and 21 and commits a drunk driving offense for the first time, they would have their license suspended and be required to complete up to 40 hours of community service. A maximum $500 fine amount could also be assessed.
Talk to an Irving Drunk Driving Car Accident Attorney Today
It is essential to seek legal assistance to handle your case if a drunk driver has injured you. An Irving drunk driving car accident lawyer could collect evidence to prove your case and hold the at-fault party responsible for their actions.
An attorney who understands the tactics frequently used by insurance companies to reduce the value of injury claims could fight aggressively to get the monetary damages you need. Schedule a consultation today.