Fort Worth Motorcycle Laws
In the eyes of Fort Worth law, motorcyclists are held to high standards. Before a person takes to the open road, they need to know the Texas motorcycle laws. They must have a valid Class M license to ride a motorcycle in Texas. To get this license, they must have already obtained a regular driver’s license. To earn their motorcycle license, they must take a DPS-approved motorcycle safety class.
It is imperative that motorcyclists keep up with the Fort Worth motorcycle laws. Failure to learn the laws could result in severe accidents, tickets, and ineligibility to operate a motorbike.
Speak to a knowledgeable motorcycle accident attorney to learn more about the laws regarding motorbikes.
DPS-Approved Motorcycle Safety Class
The DPS website includes a map of all approved safety courses across the state. This safety course teaches new or inexperienced riders some essential basics of how to ride a motorcycle and how to handle some possibly dangerous situations.
The courses break down the basic controls of a motorcycle and teach future riders some high-priority safety skills. They can expect the course to include several hours riding a motorcycle in a controlled environment as well as time in a classroom. Once they have completed the motorcycle safety course, they can bring their results to their local DPS office.
It is important to note that if they have a motorcycle license from another state, they can skip the safety course and bring in their current out-of-state motorcycle license, although Texas requires a motorcycle road test to earn a license. They might waive this test if they are over the age of 18 and have completed the motorcycle safety course.
The final step to earning their Class M license is taking the written test. This exam will test their knowledge of all the relevant Motorcycle Laws
Who Is Eligible for a Motorcycle License?
Minors aged 15 to 17 are still eligible to earn their Class M license. To do so, they must have taken and completed the 32-hour classroom phase of a driver’s education course. They must then obtain a Class C learners permit. At this point, they can take the required basic motorcycle safety course. All minors must complete and pass the road test and the written test to earn their motorcycle license.
It is important to further their education. Those with the vast knowledge of handling a motorcycle can take a DPS approved advanced motorcycle operator training course.
Do You Need a License for Driving a Moped?
If someone is interested in driving a moped instead of a motorcycle, the licensing process is simpler. They will need a Class M license with a restriction code of K, which will restrict them to moped use. There is no road test required, but a class and a written test are required. Mopeds are any motor-driven cycle that cannot exceed 30 miles per hour and has an engine smaller than 50cc.
Annual Motorcycle Inspection
All vehicles in the State of Texas are required to complete an annual inspection. An inspection ensures that a motorbike is up to the most current safety standards. There are also 17 counties in Texas that require an emissions test in addition to the inspection.
By checking a motorcycle’s emissions, the state can be sure it is environmentally friendly. When someone brings their motorcycle in for inspection, a specialist will check horn, mirrors, steering, brakes, tires, wheel assembly, exhaust system, tail lamp, stop lamp, license plate lamp, rear red reflector, headlamp, motor, and VIN number. And during their inspection, they will also verify that their motorcycle has a saddle for the rider. Their inspector will also check that the motorbike runs by using no more than three wheels to propel the vehicle forward.
Once their motorcycle passes inspection, they will receive an approved certificate that they should place near the rear license plate of their bike. They must register their bike with the county tax assessor-collector in their county. This is where they will get their license plate, which must be attached to their bike at all times. The license plate must also include an up-to-date registration sticker.
In order to pass inspection and successfully be registered, they must have proof of liability insurance. The minimum acceptable insurance includes $30,000 for bodily injury or death for one person, $60,000 for bodily injury or death for two persons, and $25,000 for property damage. A knowledgeable Fort Worth attorney could help motorcycle riders further understand these many inspection and maintenance requirements.
Parking Laws in Fort Worth
There are also parking laws. Motorcycles can be parked in open and available parking spots. They can only park in a motorcycle handicap spot if they have a disabled license plate or placard attached to their bike. They may not share this placard with other motorcyclists or lend it out. It is against the law to park their bike in a striped area adjacent to any handicap parking spots.
How a Motorcycle Accident Attorney Could Help
Motorcyclists can make themselves more aware of the increased risks of injury by refreshing themselves on Fort Worth motorcycle laws. The Texas legislature frequently changes the specific mandates and requirements surrounding motorbikes and scooters, and it could be challenging to keep track of the current rules to help make things clear.
Schedule a consultation with a seasoned attorney to learn more about how local motorcycle regulations could affect your case.